Why wouldn’t you want to wedge fatty fries from your diet?

18 Jan

Ok- I have a confession. I’m a bit a fries junky. The caf at school has a lunch of beans, sausages and fries for 3E and i cannot get enough of it. But as we all know, fries have essentially no nutritional goodness and it’s a shame really, because potatoes have such potential!
Pro tip 1: if you’re craving for fries, opt for potato wedges instead! Home cooked wedges are deliciously satisfying (more so than fries I dare say) and they are obscenely easy.

Ingredients
Potatoes (2 small/average size ones should do one serving for one person so use your need to determine quantity)
Glug of olive oil
**seasoning
– salt/pepper
– garlic powder/ 2 cloves of garlic crushed
– 1/4 teaspoon (aka dash) of rosemary, paprika, oregano, whatever the hell else spice you can think of

Pro tip 2: ok personally I have the palate of a fussy 5 year old, so hand me something unseasoned, I’m happy. I recognize, however, that 99% of the population have matured past a kindergartener in the kitchen and do in fact enjoy seasoning. So, I leave it as an option. If you need some flavour/kick to your wedges, add whatever you want as portioned above. If not, you really only need potatoes and oil. That’s what I love about wedges. You can honestly add as much or as little as you want, depending on personal taste.

1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees C
2. Scrub the potatoes.
3. Slice each potato in half lengthwise. Take each half and slice into 4 equally size lengthwise wedge.
Ok I’ll be honest- I don’t give a damn what shape my wedges are or which way I cut them. In the end, as long as they’re cut into pieces, who the hell cares if they’re equally sized lengthwise wedges. Unless you’re cooking for my mother, or perhaps yours. If she’s anything like mine, she’ll care.
4. In a bowl, pour a glug of oil (I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again, easy on the oil- a little goes a long way) and add whatever seasoning your heart desires.
5. Add your creatively sliced wedges to your oil/seasoning combo, and give it a good mix. The more you can toss the potatoes about in there, the better as you want them to be nice and covered in seasoning.
6. Spread out in a tray covered in tin foil and place in oven for 30-35 minutes- time varies based on oven, start checking around 25 minutes and taken them out when they’re golden and begin to brown (depending on how crisp you want them)

Pro tip 3: I’ve been in my new apartment just over 2 weeks now, and needless to say, I don’t have the biggest kitchen or the greatest supply of kitchen ware and the likes. I was in the middle of making wedges and I realized I was lacking in tin foil. I said fuck it, greased up a baking tray with some butter and cooked them anyways. I will buy tin foil at some point because it’s probably better for my pans, but don’t let something like that stop you. Get creative, get lazy. That’s what university is for right? (If not, I’m doing something very, very wrong…)

And that’s pretty much it. Take them out when they’re cooked to your taste, add them to whatever delicious meat or side you’ve concocted, and enjoy these very easy, healthy, wedges.

Anyways, have fun xxx

One Response to “Why wouldn’t you want to wedge fatty fries from your diet?”

  1. evlracer January 21, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    “I have the palate of a fussy five year old”- bwahahaha accurate.

Leave a Reply

travelintheusa

A travel blog by a regular girl out to explore the world

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

North American Irish Dance Championships - 2014

Bienvenue à Montréal - Welcome to Montreal.

Aim To Travel

Explore the World. Go. Now.

flojoeasydetox

Detox to Retox and everything in between...

CAKE IS THE NEW BLACK

Bake | Snap | Write

Fit Girl in a Pretty World

My journey through life trying to stay fit and fabulous

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

cpd for dance teachers

enhancing dance teacher education

The Perfect Pointe Book

All The Tips, Tricks And Exercises You Need To Know About Starting En Pointe

foodlovingdancemajor

1st-year grad student who loves coffee, loves to cook and eat tasty and beautiful food

Not Another Hockey Blog

Geeky. Snarky. Smart.

ADAIR

LIFE OBSERVED.

Hockey Writing from Liz Bell

Hockey, Writing....

Cue the Dagger

Your daily dose of Blackhawks hockey and Chicago sports

Where the foodies go

Travel adventures for the love of food - Dishes, places and recipes by two boundless foodies. Are you a foodie? Join the foodies!

