And Our Tuesday Special is Dance, With a Side of Walking

23 Jan

I realize I haven’t said much about myself, and to a certain degree I’d like to maintain a level of anonymity . That being said, I am going to share a little bit about myself.

I’m a full time university student studying sports science, hopefully going on to physiotherapy. When I’m not studying, I’m dancing- specifically Irish dance. I hope to be able to incorporate these both in my life by working with dancers as a PT and also teaching dance.

Unrelated to those, I am a huge ice hockey fan, and have recently discovered a love for yoga.

My point of telling you this, is to introduce my Tuesday specials. As you may have noticed by my rather lengthy post on dance nutrition yesterday, I want to dedicate tuesdays to dancers. I have seen first hand the pressure to have the “perfect” body, and the eating disorders this can create. In reality, there is no such thing, and unbeknownst to them, dancers starving themselves to be better are preventing their bodies from reaching optimum performance. This is why every tuesday I will present a recipe for a meal that satisfies the need of a dancer undergoing hours of class or rehearsal. I chose tuesdays because I have 3 hours of dance and I typically walk 9-10 miles between classes, home, and dance. With that amount of energy expenditure, I’m sure as hell looking for a meal that will keep me going.

On that note, I bring you a personal favorite… bangers and mash with a side of baked beans.

Ingredients

3 potatoes* (washed, peeled, and quartered)

2 pork sausages**

1 can of baked beans

2 spoons of butter

1 spoon of mayo

1 shot glass of milk

* The recipe I used called for 3 potatoes but I found this to just be way too much. I’d say go for 1, maybe 2.

** 2 sausages is just what I was feeling last night. Cook however many your heart desires!

Instructions:

1. Boil chopped potatoes for around 15 minutes or until they are soft enough the a knife inserts easily.

Pro tip 1: This actually took me the longest, my sausages and beans were ready before the potatoes ever boiled. You know your stove, but my advice is to start this well in advance and don’t start the sausages and beans until the potatoes have boiled and you drain them.

2. Pour a glug of oil onto a frying pan and add your sausages. Cook them until they are brown all around and the insides are white. These will need constant attention to keep them moving to make sure all sides get cooked evenly, so just be aware of that before you put them on.

3. Once the sausages are done, take them off the pan, give it a rinse and add your baked beans. WARNING: since the pan is already hot these will not take long at all. Pour them in, give them a little stir, and take them off again. Be careful not to burn them. Or you know, microwave them. That works too.

4. Once the potatoes are boiled, drain out the water, add your butter, mayo, and milk and mash potatoes, mixing them all up well. Add butter taking into account the flavor you want.

5. Serve! It’s that easy!

This recipe really is a gem. It’s so easy and so great for a high energy expenditure day because it’s about 700 calories, and high in carbs. This is probably making you cringe, but if you refer to my guide on dance nutrition, you’ll see this is actually ideal.

Mashed potatoes: The good: Low in Saturated Fat and Cholesterol. It is also a good source of Vitamin C, Vitamin B6 and Potassium.
The bad: This food is high in Sodium, so go easy on the salt seasoning!

Pork sausages: The good: This food is a good source of Protein.
The bad: This food is high in Saturated Fat. This food also contains Trans Fat. ( Just remember, we DO need some fat in our diet, so having one food item a little high in fat content is fine, as long as saturated fats do not exceed 10%)

Baked beans: The good: This food is very low in Saturated Fat, Cholesterol and Sodium. It is also a very good source of Dietary Fiber.

For more nutritional information see http://nutritiondata.self.com/

I hope this was helpful, and that at least one dancer out there realizes the importance of proper nutrition and eating enough to fuel our high energy sport!

20130123-115949.jpg

 

Just to give you an idea of how much mash was too much. Also full disclosure I left out the milk on accident, so if it looks a little crumbly… that’s why. Include the milk and you’ll have nice creamy mash.

4 Responses to “And Our Tuesday Special is Dance, With a Side of Walking”

  1. evlracer January 23, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    Nutrition plus sports- SO IMPORTANT and so easy to forget. Looks great!

    • callmekate13 January 23, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

      Thanks! I know- I could go on for hours about sports nutrition, such an under appreciated topic for so many athletes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beautiful Blogger Award!! | her name was cassandra - March 6, 2013

    […] 3. Kate, of Healthy Living for the Culinary Impaired. She writes about nutrition and food and all sorts of craziness. Follow her harrowing adventures in the kitchen and her rather unusual take on food here. […]

  2. I still can’t cook mashed potatoes. | Healthy Living For the Culinary Impaired - March 14, 2013

    […]  the recipe I use for mash can be found here, and here’s  the final […]

Leave a Reply

travelintheusa

A travel blog by a regular girl out to explore the world

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

North American Irish Dance Championships - 2014

Bienvenue à Montréal - Welcome to Montreal.

Aim To Travel

Explore the World. Go. Now.

flojoeasydetox

Detox to Retox and everything in between...

CAKE IS THE NEW BLACK

Bake | Snap | Write

Fit Girl in a Pretty World

My journey through life trying to stay fit and fabulous

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

cpd for dance teachers

enhancing dance teacher education

The Perfect Pointe Book

All The Tips, Tricks And Exercises You Need To Know About Starting En Pointe

foodlovingdancemajor

1st-year grad student who loves coffee, loves to cook and eat tasty and beautiful food

Not Another Hockey Blog

Geeky. Snarky. Smart.

ADAIR

LIFE OBSERVED.

Hockey Writing from Liz Bell

Hockey, Writing....

Cue the Dagger

Your daily dose of Blackhawks hockey and Chicago sports

Where the foodies go

Two Italian foodies tasting good food as they travel around the world!

