My Go-To “I have no food left” Meal

4 Feb

So I faced a dilemma today. Hungry, lazy, and my cupboards are empty. And by empty I mean I had: 1 slice of almost stale bread, chicken stock, oatmeal, tea, sugar, left over pasta, left over rice, eggs, ham, butter, cereal and milk. Not really conducive to great meals, and I wasn’t able to go to the market today.

Luckily for me- I had a stroke of genius! In honor of Chinese New Year this coming sunday, I decided to try out some good ‘ole egg fried rice. ( I wish any of that was actually true- more like it was the most edible collection of food that incorporated carbs and proteins, but let’s just say I’m honoring Chinese New Year). I wouldn’t even normally have a clue when Chinese New Year is, but my parents (lucky sods) are headed off to Thailand for the week as they get time off work, and have not ceased to remind me that they’re jetting off to Bangkok on Friday. Meanwhile I’m sitting in my apartment watching it piss some combination of rain and snow realizing I have a history paper due in 2 weeks. Bastards.

Wow that got off topic. ANYWAYS- egg fried rice. I love this because it is so easy to throw together when you have almost nothing in your cupboards/fridge, and it can be tailored so you can throw in anything and everything you might need to use up. As I’ve mentioned, I like things plain and simple, so for me it was just egg fried rice with some ham thrown in, but have a look around online for other suggestions of ingredients (or just go for it and throw in everything you need to get rid of and see what happens!)

Ingredients:

Rice*

2 eggs

1 glug of oil

Anything else you want to throw in

* I don’t want to specify how much rice because this is easiest made with left over rice, so you just use whatever you have. If you’re cooking the rice specifically for this, ummmmm, just do whatever the packet recommends for 1 serving? I wish I could be more help here, but I actually have no idea how much pasta or rice is ever enough for 1 person. It NEVER looks like enough and then wham you have 3 full servings and nothing to do with it. But hey, I wouldn’t have been able to make this if I hadn’t completely overshot my Beef Stir Fry– so it’s not so bad.

Instructions:

Pro tip 1: For this to work best, you’ll want to use refrigerated rice that you have boiled before and stuck in the fridge. That’s why I think this works best with leftovers, because you get 2 meals out of 1 batch of rice. If you cook it, for best results wait for it to cool down completely and pop it in the fridge for a little bit. But, easiest option is just use rice you’ve prepared earlier. Wow, I feel like I’m on Blue Peter. If you didn’t get that reference: watch this video. Go to about 1:00 (typical blue peter this is what you do… and this is what it will look like when you’re done! I couldn’t find a video where they actually say “and here’s one I prepared earlier” but I swear to god they said it all the time). Also, I went onto tumblr to find a gif of “and here’s one I made earlier”, and all of the blue peter gifs were of either Doctor Who or Ed Sheeran. IT’S LIKE TUMBLR KNOWS ME. I don’t even have a tumblr account. Get out of my head, internet.

Wow, getting all kinds of distracted today. Moving on!

1. Put your wok/frying pan on medium/high heat let it warm up.

2. Beat the eggs in a separate bowl.

3. Once it’s nice and hot, pour in your oil and any ingredients you have like spring onions or peas and stir fry for a couple of minutes

4. Add in your rice and stir fry for another 2-3 minutes.

5. Add eggs and stir until the eggs have set. Serve!

Pro tip 2: I think I may have not given this step enough time- the rice was smothered in eggs but it hadn’t really set. Wait until your egg is clumping and setting like in scrambled egg. Alternatively, you can scramble your eggs before hand, but if you remember my issues with scrambled eggs, you will understand why I am hesitant to do so.

And that’s it! It’s really that easy. It’s tasty, straight forward, quick, and honest to god the PERFECT meal when you have just about run out of food. Have at it internet!

20130204-214138.jpg

Leave a Reply

travelintheusa

A travel blog by a regular girl out to explore the world

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

North American Irish Dance Championships - 2014

Bienvenue à Montréal - Welcome to Montreal.

Aim To Travel

Explore the World. Go. Now.

flojoeasydetox

Detox to Retox and everything in between...

CAKE IS THE NEW BLACK

Bake | Snap | Write

Fit Girl in a Pretty World

My journey through life trying to stay fit and fabulous

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

cpd for dance teachers

enhancing dance teacher education

The Perfect Pointe Book

All The Tips, Tricks And Exercises You Need To Know About Starting En Pointe

foodlovingdancemajor

1st-year grad student who loves coffee, loves to cook and eat tasty and beautiful food

Not Another Hockey Blog

Geeky. Snarky. Smart.

ADAIR

LIFE OBSERVED.

Hockey Writing from Liz Bell

Hockey, Writing....

Cue the Dagger

Your daily dose of Blackhawks hockey and Chicago sports

Where the foodies go

Two Italian foodies tasting good food as they travel around the world!

