Pre-Stamina Day Carbo-Loading

5 Feb

Today, I may well go through hell on earth. As I’ve mentioned- I have 90 minutes of dance, break, then 2 and half hours more of dance. Add in the fact that I have a 3 mile walk in between and no ride next week, and that sounds bad enough. But oh, it gets worse. Several of us are competing in a little over a month, so our teacher has decided to work on our stamina until then. Our other teacher (the stricter and “I don’t care if you’re so exhausted that you’re about to pass out keep doing it perfectly” teacher) is coming back and our current teacher has warned us that tuesday will be a stamina day. If my powers of prediction are correct, I’m gonna go ahead and guess that every class in february will be stamina day. Shoot me.

The point of saying all of this is to a) warn you this may be my last post as I anticipate not being alive tomorrow and b) the more pertinent option, explain to you why I carbo loaded this weekend

In order to get through stamina day, I’m going to need all the energy I can get. To read more about how your body reaps energy from carbohydrates, click here! (I LOVE biochemistry and I had way too much on the subject to put it in this post). But my point is, carbohydrates (and lots of them) are not only great but necessary before a show or competition, or even a long rehearsal.

I was going to write out an eating game centered around a TV show (read: Doctor Who) – a manifestation of a drinking game but the goal being carbo-loading instead of getting wasted. Not as fun, but a more productive use of the hours I’m spending watching Doctor Who. The only problem is I got to the end of season 2 (of the newer series that began in 2005), where SPOILER ALERT Rose and the Doctor say goodbye and confess their love (or almost) and whatnot and I literally started bawling. I can’t even. I love Rose Tyler more than words can describe. I thought losing Christopher Eccleston was bad, but losing Billie Piper, and tearing apart Rose and the Doctor- man that broke me. I am actually so glad my flatmate went out tonight because she’d think I’m mental. All hysterical over a TV program. Either way, any plans of doing anything productive while watching that show have been derailed as I try and come to terms with the end of the era of Rose. Plus, right now the game would look something like “Eat a sandwich every time you cry”… and I would run out of bread.

Image

For the full heart breaking effect, click on it!

So- new plan! I’m going to present some of the best foods to eat while carbo-loading. But be warned- consumption of all of these in a short amount of time (what I’m doing) should only be done in the face of serious energy expenditure. Not your average workout. Just remember, if you’re eating it, you have to do enough exercise to work it off. (And likewise, you need to eat enough to fuel your work out, so plan accordingly).

1. Rice! Rice is great. It should be a staple in EVERYONE’S diet. I mean honestly what’s not to like. It has 45 g of carbohydrates per serving- 0 of which are from sugar, 205 calories- 4 of which are from fat, 0 g of fat- saturated and trans. Best part- it’s composition is 90% carbohydrate. Take a look at this make up:

Screen shot 2013-02-04 at 10.19.20 PM

I mean it just doesn’t get better than that. All of the data I gave above was for 1 serving, but if you know me and my inability  to determine serving size, I ended up eating about 3-4 servings of rice over the weekend. Still not as much rice as I ate when I went to China for 3 weeks in the summer- literally it was all I ate when we went out to eat. Me being the fussy eater I am barely ate anything of the main meals (I’m sorry but I REFUSE to eat crunchy chicken, when by crunchy they mean talons and heads), so my god, when that rice dish came out at the end, I enjoyed it.

2. Pasta. Pasta has the ability to get quite fatty quite quickly if you’re generous with the butter or sauce, but if you are a person with refined tastes such as myself (and by refined I mine childish), then pasta is perfect just plain (hello alliteration!) When served plain, 1 serving provides almost 200 calories, and 39 g of carbohydrates, none of which come from sugars. The make up is pretty much the same as rice with a tad bit more fat and a tad less protein. Either way- GOOD STUFF. I’d be lying if lunch and dinner on two separate days this weekend weren’t simply big bowls of plain pasta.

3. Kellogg’s Rice Krispies. I’m a cereal gal. I could eat all day, every day. Every meal, every snack, give me cereal I’d be happy. With milk, without milk. Don’t care. I will ALWAYS welcome cereal.  Back when I was in a dorm and had a meal plan, if I didn’t feel like walking (all of 3 minutes) to the dining hall, it would be cereal for dinner. And if I didn’t have milk, it was generally cereal out of the box for dinner, because going to get milk was almost as much hassle as getting “real” food from the dining hall. ( Yeah, I know, I’m a lazy bum, I got that) Anyways I think you get my point. I never really considered it particularly nutritious, but believe it or not, rice krispies are full of carbohydrates. They boast a 91:2:7 carb:protein:fat percentage ratio, with each serving providing 128 calories, 28g of carbohydrates (3g from sugar), and almost 300mg of sodium. I specify sodium, because I don’t get close to enough sodium in my diet. I’m not a huge meat eater a lot of the time, and I only really use salt with fries (which I avoid), so I don’t come close to the recommended 2500 mg a day. I’d barely get that in a week!

4. Potatoes. Oh man, talk about superfoods. Potatoes are fantastic! Just fantastic. If you’ve noticed, they’re in most of my recipes for a reason. They’re a staple of my diet (and now it’s not hard to figure out where I’m from, I bet), and for good reason. They 93% carbohydrates with very low fat content. 1 serving provides about 260 calories, 60 g of carbohydrate, and a whopping 72 mg of sodium. Warning: this is quite a high sodium content, which can be dangerous who are getting sufficient amounts of sodium elsewhere in their diet. If you have significant sources of sodium elsewhere, just beware that potatoes are a big source. If you’re like me and not getting enough sodium, potatoes are just fantastic.

5. Grapes! These fruits are made up of almost entirely carbohydrates. Now- the downside to them is  that most of their carbohydrates come from sugar (they’re simple carbs) but they are a great source of vitamin C, and if you’re not eating any other sweets regularly, then you don’t really have anything to worry about.

Ok those are my top 5. I’m not a particularly sophisticated eater so these are kind of the basics, and the most you’ll see in my apartment. I don’t have a wide variety, but I eat a hell of a lot of what I have 🙂

Leave a Reply

travelintheusa

A travel blog by a regular girl out to explore the world

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

North American Irish Dance Championships - 2014

Bienvenue à Montréal - Welcome to Montreal.

Aim To Travel

Explore the World. Go. Now.

flojoeasydetox

Detox to Retox and everything in between...

CAKE IS THE NEW BLACK

Bake | Snap | Write

Fit Girl in a Pretty World

My journey through life trying to stay fit and fabulous

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

cpd for dance teachers

enhancing dance teacher education

The Perfect Pointe Book

All The Tips, Tricks And Exercises You Need To Know About Starting En Pointe

foodlovingdancemajor

1st-year grad student who loves coffee, loves to cook and eat tasty and beautiful food

Not Another Hockey Blog

Geeky. Snarky. Smart.

ADAIR

LIFE OBSERVED.

Hockey Writing from Liz Bell

Hockey, Writing....

Cue the Dagger

Your daily dose of Blackhawks hockey and Chicago sports

Where the foodies go

Two Italian foodies tasting good food as they travel around the world!

