The Best Burger I’ve Had In a Very Long Time

6 Feb

I LOVE burgers. At the dining hall at school when I had a meal plan, I don’t think there was a week went by when I didn’t have a cheeseburger. (I’m not sure there were 3 days that went by where I didn’t have one). I actually lived on cereal, grilled cheese, cheeseburgers and fries for a while. It was embarrassing, but it was all the dining hall offered for their “late night” hours, which was often the only time I had a chance to eat dinner with my dance schedule, if I ate dinner at all. Yeah, I had REALLY bad eating habits last year. Long story short, I’m really glad I’m cooking for myself. 

Since 95% of the burgers I’ve eaten in the past 2 years have been over processed pieces of shit, I think I’d actually forgotten what a good burger made out of real meat tasted like. But not anymore. I got a ground beef patty from the butcher for all of 65 cents or something, and set out to accomplish a goal of mine: make a pinterest recipe. I know it sounds stupid, but let’s be honest, how many hours have we sat around pinning shit onto pinterest with the caption “looks delicious- must make this!”, and yet i’d say 99% of pins never actually get made. ( I say we because I kind of assume everyone is just as much of a lazy bum as I am and rewards themselves just for going to class by looking at facebook and pinterest the entire time)

So without further ado, I give you, my pinterest success! Fried Egg Cheeseburger!

Ingredients:

1 beef burger patty

1 egg

1 burger bun

1 slice of cheese

1 glug of oil 

Instructions: 

Pro tip 1: I’m gonna go ahead and tell you know, it is NOT going to look as good as it does on pinterest. Pinterest is a LIE. Nothing actually looks like that. But that’s ok, it’ll still taste magnificent. 

1. Turn on stove to medium-high heat and pour in your oil

2. Gently press down on the patty to get it to your desired size/thickness. Using a pint class, press down in the middle of the patty and take out the circular section separated by the glass.

3. Put the burger minus the middle in the pan, ( optional: put the middle section in to the side as well, you can add this on top of your burger/egg if you fancy the extra meat) 

4. Let it cook until it’s browning on the bottom

5. Crack an egg and pour it into the middle section

Pro tip 2: If you make the burger to thin, the egg won’t all fit in the hole and you’re going to have leaky half fried egg covering your burger and half your pan. Either don’t make the burger that thin, or watch how much egg you pour in. 

6. Once the egg has cooked a little bit, flip the burger and allow the other side to brown. Cook until the inside of the burger is no longer pink. (Same goes for the middle section if you decided to cook that).

7. Put cheese on top of the burger for a minute or so if you want it to melt a little, and put into burger bun.

And voila! I know it’s not really a recipe, but I kind of felt like I had to prove to the world that my time spent on pinterest isn’t *completely* useless. And plus, even though it wasn’t the prettiest to look at, this was a goddamn masterpiece of a burger if I may say so myself.

And to sum up how I felt about eating this burger: 

Image

I actually can’t watch this episode without craving a burger.

Leave a Reply

travelintheusa

A travel blog by a regular girl out to explore the world

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

North American Irish Dance Championships - 2014

Bienvenue à Montréal - Welcome to Montreal.

Aim To Travel

Explore the World. Go. Now.

flojoeasydetox

Detox to Retox and everything in between...

CAKE IS THE NEW BLACK

Bake | Snap | Write

Fit Girl in a Pretty World

My journey through life trying to stay fit and fabulous

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

cpd for dance teachers

enhancing dance teacher education

The Perfect Pointe Book

All The Tips, Tricks And Exercises You Need To Know About Starting En Pointe

foodlovingdancemajor

1st-year grad student who loves coffee, loves to cook and eat tasty and beautiful food

Not Another Hockey Blog

Geeky. Snarky. Smart.

ADAIR

LIFE OBSERVED.

Hockey Writing from Liz Bell

Hockey, Writing....

Cue the Dagger

Your daily dose of Blackhawks hockey and Chicago sports

Where the foodies go

Two Italian foodies tasting good food as they travel around the world!

