Le Pain Perdu

11 Feb

For those of you who don’t speak French, “pain perdu” literally means “lost bread”. I love this because it’s the French term for French toast, and as you might now, French toast is best made with stale bread. Americans could never market it if they called it “Stale Toast”, so instead they call it “French Toast” to make it sound more mysterious and culinarily exquisite (as most French things are). And yet, the French get away with “Lost Bread”. It actually has some mystical intrigue to it… or maybe that’s just me. Either way, I love France, I love French Toast, I have a loaf of bread that needs to be thrown away soon, so I got adventurous and made French Toast for breakfast this morning! It’s an especially nice treat, since it’s absolutely miserable outside. Definitely a no-way-in-hell-I’m-going-to-class-today kind of day. Alors, let the cooking commence!

Ingredients:

Bread (at least 2 slices)

1 egg per 2 slices of bread

2 tablespoons of milk per egg

1 glug of oil

Optional:

1 tsp of vanilla extract

Cinnamon

1 tsp of honey

Sprinkling of Sugar

* Ok. Most regular french toast recipes have bread, milk, eggs, and then vanilla extract and cinnamon, that’s pretty standard. Well I don’t have cinnamon, and I can’t open my vanilla extract bottle, so I decided to improvise. The first two slices I made were just bread, eggs and milk. They were really good, but a little bland. Now, I don’t mind that at all, but they could’ve done with a bit of flavor or something sweet. So the next batch I made, I made the regular mixture again, but with the first slice I sprinkled sugar onto the slice on the pan before I flipped it. Then I added about two squeezes of honey (maybe 1 tsp?) into the mixture for the second slice. The added sugar was delicious. It didn’t make it overly sweet, but it added just enough flavor/sweetness to hit a perfect balance. The honey didn’t seem to make a difference- so I probably didn’t add enough. I will have to try next time adding more. I’m guessing it will just add a nice sweetness like the sugar. I would actually never normally use honey..in anything. But the other day in my haste to get supplies for pancake day, I bought a bottle of honey instead of syrup, so I am exploring ways to use it up!

Instructions:

1. Turn on your stove to high heat and let it warm up.

2. Add a glug of oil to pan and set on stove.

3. In a separate bowl, mix eggs, milk, and any other flavor/sweetener you so desire.

4. Coat both sides of a slice of bread in the mixture and place in pan.

Pro tip 1: There has to be some kind of a knack to do this. Maybe use a big enough bowl to lay your bread down flat. I dipped in one edge and pulled it down over the mixture, prodding the bread to make sure it got some on it. Of course I missed patches here, there, and everywhere, but in the end it turned out fine. If you’re not worried about getting your hands (and probably counter and floor) messy, then any way will work!

5. Repeat with the other slice(s) of bread.

6. Eat. Equally you could add powdered sugar, syrup and yummy stuff like that before you eat too. But either way, get to the eating part.

Delicious. I’m glad I did this when I only had 4 slices left in the loaf, because I could actually eat this all day. Maybe it’s time to hit the market and do my groceries… I see lots more bread in my future 😉

Internet- do you have a particular way you make french toast? What’s your special ingredient to give it the flavor you love? What else can I use honey in?!!

Bon appetit!

20130211-112252.jpg

Leave a Reply

travelintheusa

A travel blog by a regular girl out to explore the world

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

North American Irish Dance Championships - 2014

Bienvenue à Montréal - Welcome to Montreal.

Aim To Travel

Explore the World. Go. Now.

flojoeasydetox

Detox to Retox and everything in between...

CAKE IS THE NEW BLACK

Bake | Snap | Write

Fit Girl in a Pretty World

My journey through life trying to stay fit and fabulous

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

cpd for dance teachers

enhancing dance teacher education

The Perfect Pointe Book

All The Tips, Tricks And Exercises You Need To Know About Starting En Pointe

foodlovingdancemajor

1st-year grad student who loves coffee, loves to cook and eat tasty and beautiful food

Not Another Hockey Blog

Geeky. Snarky. Smart.

ADAIR

LIFE OBSERVED.

Hockey Writing from Liz Bell

Hockey, Writing....

Cue the Dagger

Your daily dose of Blackhawks hockey and Chicago sports

Where the foodies go

Travel adventures for the love of food - Dishes, places and recipes by two boundless foodies. Are you a foodie? Join the foodies!

