“You must forgive me if I’m up and goin’ to Carolina in my mind”

18 Jun

“In my mind I’m goin’ to Carolina
Can’t you see the sunshine
Can’t you just feel the moonshine
Ain’t it just like a friend of mine
To hit me from behind
And I’m goin’ to Carolina in my mind”

– James Taylor

You guys, I’m home. Well, one of my homes. I have many, but right now, Chapel Hill feels a lot like home and man have I missed this place. It is SO good to be back in this beautiful town. I had an amazing 5 months abroad that I wouldn’t trade for the world, and all you college students thinking about studying abroad: DO IT DO IT DO IT. I had an amazing time and have made best friends I will treasure for the rest of my life.

Image

Sunset on the river Lee near my *former* apartment in Cork. I will always love this beautiful place.

Nevertheless, I am loving the heat, the blue skies, the scorching sun, the endless tree cover, the ridiculous thunderstorms, driving my bug again, living in a proper house with a real kitchen and no flat mate, and did I mention the fact that it actually feels like summer? I don’t think I’ve ever been this excited for warm weather.

I actually go here. And yes, it’s actually this beautiful. (Not my picture)

Alright, enough gushing about how Chapel Hill leaves a stamp on your heart. You guys get the picture. I’ve actually been back for a solid 2 weeks if not more but it’s been a crazy time involving dance competitions, catching up with friends and family, birthday parties and readjusting to American life. This week is finally looking like it’s settling into normal life, so I figured I’d kick it off by getting back to blogging!

I’ve not really cooked much since getting home since my mother dearest is home and she is an amazing cook (thanks for nothing on those genes, mum) so she kind of just does everything for me food wise because she assumes my state of uselessness in the kitchen. I’m trying to do more, but it won’t be as frequent as when I was in Ireland. That being said, as a result of the various parties, I’ve done a fair amount of baking, which I happen to be really good at, so don’t be surprised to see some yummy baked goods in the next few recipes. I can’t promise they’re healthy but they’re really quite easy, and everything in moderation, right? 🙂

Alright, no recipes today because I’m still recovering from a tummy bug and don’t even want to think about food right now, so instead, I’ll leave you with picture highlights of my month abroad, and a little note that while I will try to post consistently over the summer, I’m actually leaving the country (again) for 6 weeks at the beginning of July! This time I’m off to Asia… but more on that later!

20130618-012316.jpg

Cork at christmas!

20130618-012342.jpg

St. Finbarre’s Cathedral in the winter

20130618-012511.jpg

London in January snow

20130618-012819.jpg

London from the top of The Shard over Easter, equally as cold as when I was there in the snow in January!!!

20130618-012902.jpg

Heineken Cup quarterfinals at Twickenham!

20130618-012934.jpg

Buckingham Palace, half mast for Margaret Thatcher

20130618-012953.jpg

more London ( I could’ve gone on forever with my pictures from London, really, it’s probably my favorite city ever)

20130618-013045.jpg

BEACH!!

20130618-013105.jpg

Streets of Malaga

20130618-013121.jpg

Streets of Malaga

20130618-013149.jpg

Panorama Malaga from the Alcazaba- Moorish fortress

20130618-013223.jpg

View of Puento Neuvo from El Tajo Gorge in Ronda. Prettiest place ever.

20130618-013245.jpg

View of Granada from the Alhambra

20130618-013336.jpg

St. Finbarre’s Cathedral in the Spring (this was actually late May so almost summer but it was the first time it felt like spring in Ireland!!!)

20130618-013347.jpg

Celebratory post-finals drink at the college bar. Woo!

Leave a Reply

travelintheusa

A travel blog by a regular girl out to explore the world

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

North American Irish Dance Championships - 2014

Bienvenue à Montréal - Welcome to Montreal.

Aim To Travel

Explore the World. Go. Now.

flojoeasydetox

Detox to Retox and everything in between...

CAKE IS THE NEW BLACK

Bake | Snap | Write

Fit Girl in a Pretty World

My journey through life trying to stay fit and fabulous

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

cpd for dance teachers

enhancing dance teacher education

The Perfect Pointe Book

All The Tips, Tricks And Exercises You Need To Know About Starting En Pointe

foodlovingdancemajor

1st-year grad student who loves coffee, loves to cook and eat tasty and beautiful food

Not Another Hockey Blog

Geeky. Snarky. Smart.

ADAIR

LIFE OBSERVED.

Hockey Writing from Liz Bell

Hockey, Writing....

Cue the Dagger

Your daily dose of Blackhawks hockey and Chicago sports

Where the foodies go

Two Italian foodies tasting good food as they travel around the world!

